Because revokation is a signal. It completes a chain. If information exists or are found, they can simply be marked as revoked without losing their information. Yes previously valid, but revoked information can still be useful.
My proposal has a flaw that prevents this from working completely, but the ability for clients to maintain continuity after revocation allows identities to continue transparently.